The Apocalypse of Jesus Christ!

The word Apocalypse means Revelation; Jesus Christ revealed truth to us in this last book of Holy Scripture.  The Revelation of Jesus Christ tells us that He was the only One found worthy to break the seven seals on the scroll that was written inside and outside.  The first four seals have become known as the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. They have been tied to the end times and Armageddon.

But are they not examples of what the sin nature of man has done?


The Amplified Bible has it this way:

The First Seal—The Conqueror

6 Then I saw as the Lamb (Christ) broke one of the seven [a]seals [of the scroll initiating the judgments], and I heard one of the four living creatures call out as with a voice of thunder, “[b]Come.” I looked, and behold, a [c]white horse [of victory] whose rider carried a [d]bow; and a crown [of victory] was given to him, and he rode forth conquering and to conquer.

Each of the seals on the scroll initiate a judgment.  Question:  The first seal depicts a white horse whose rider carries a bow and was given a crown of victory; he rode forth conquering and to conquer, so what judgment on mankind could this be?  How are we to understand it?

Since mankind has been under judgment since Adam sinned, how about we begin at the beginning?  A white horse symbolizes purity.  The symbol of God’s truth is a sharp two-edged sword. So the bow must symbolize something other than truth, force of arms perhaps or force of reason—Conquering with supposed virtue—conquering and to conquer.  The thing is, we are to govern ourselves within the framework of righteousness as defined by God—govern ourselves, not be governed by someone else. So as a mark of judgment, the first seal must represent man in his desire to rule over others. Others who want no one to rule over them must be conquered to be controlled—governed.

Second Seal judgment—Red Horse take peace from the earth.  Inevitable effect of conquering and to conquer and the rider carried a great sword.

Third Seal Judgment—Black Horse—one setting the value of the necessities of life over another.  A day’s labor barely supplies the minimum to feed the laborer so the working class families are always in want.  But the oil and the wine will always be out there to strive for; strive but rarely succeed.  No peace outside, and no peace inside.

Fourth Seal Judgment—Pale Horse—this rider has a name—Death and Hades (the grave) followed with him. Death, just and unjust (in our perception), is ever present in this realm. And the grave is never satisfied.

Fifth Seal Judgment—Even the answer to the martyrs prayers is delayed though their sacrifice is recognized.

The Sixth Seal Judgment—Even the rich and powerful know their day will come but will call upon nature—anything to hide them from it.  Deceiving themselves that they may somehow avoid the consequences of their unrighteousness.  Judgments to them seem ever so much more severe than to the little people.  The heavens roll up as a scroll when these are affected.

This has been the case throughout history since Adam. These judgments are not end times tribulations on mankind but have been with us always.

Please feel free to comment!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s